オルタナティブ・ブログ > 坂本史郎の【朝メール】より >

ビジネスモバイルITベンチャー実録【朝メール】から抜粋します

JST and IST time difference makes me work quite long hours

»

おはようございます。

バンガロールでの最終日がスタート。

===ほぼ毎朝エッセー===

The difference of Japan Standard Time (JST) and India Standard Time (IST) is three and a half hours. Going back and forth between India and Japan, I found this "half" is making the calculation very difficult. You must get used to it until you can think and know what time it is on the other side.

In my case, the pressure is there when I need to attend meetings in Japan, early in the mornings. For example, today, I have a meeting that starts at 10am JST. This means it is 6.30am IST. Attending a meeting from 6.30am is not so difficult for me if I didn't have this morning mail to be finished before then.

I normally finish my morning mail work before 9am JST, but coming to India, it converts into 5.30am IST. Morning mail, if I were to make comments to everyone, would take approximately three hours. So, simple math tells me I can start working at 2.30 IST, if I were to stick with completion of morning mail by 9am JST. It is not possible. I need some sleep.

Yesterday, I found today's schedule to be busy. I needed to fly out midnight tonight, so I had to check my hotel out in the morning, plus, I wanted to attend a meeting that starts at 10am JST. So, last night, before I went to bed, I had made a little table to see how my schedule turns out.

09:00JST/05:30IST: Finish morning mail and start packing, take shower
10:00JST/06:30IST: Attend a meeting
11:00JST/07:30IST: Breakfast
12:00JST/08:30IST: Hotel Checkout and move to CIPL
13:00JST/09:30IST: Leave for a customer visit
14:00JST/10:30IST: Meeting at a customer
14:00JST/12:30IST: Some more customer visit in the IST afternoon.
22:00JST/18:30IST: CIPL get together at Hilton Hotel
24:00JST/20:30IST: Change clothes
01:00JST/21:00IST: Leave the hotel for Bangalore airport
02:30JST/22:30IST: Arrive at the airport and immigration
04:30JST/01:00IST: Departure time for Bangkok
17:25JST/13:55IST: Arrive to Tokyo Haneda airport

This made me realize that I need to wake up at least at 4:30IST this morning, at least to issue this morning mail. So, I woke up at 4:30IST, which is already 8:00am in Japan, and started to work on this.

Quite a hectic day has started!

Comment(0)

コメント

コメントを投稿する